PSC nominates new ECK chairman

Published on 02/04/2009

The Parliamentary select committee on constitution has picked lawyer Ahmed Issack Hassan as chairman of the Independent Interim Electoral Commission (IIEC).

Hassan was born in 1972 and was the youngest and most active commissioner in the Constitution of Kenya Review Commission during the Kenya law review process.

Other high profile jobs he has held include serving as a legal advisor to the Somali Transition Government. He is a graduate of University of Nairobi and began practicing law in 1995.

He also served as a commissioner in the commission of inquiry investigating the criminal activities and breach of security involving the Artur brothers headed by Shadrack Kiruki.

He now joins the proposed IIEC commissioners: Tiyah Galgalo (Eastern), Hamara Ibrahim Adan (North Eastern), Kenneth Nyaundi (Nyanza), Dr Yusuf Nzibo (Nairobi), Winfred Waceke Guchu (Central), Davis Chirchir (Rift Valley) and Abiud Wekesa (Western) for the all-important body.

Those who had been short-listed for the job include Mr J O Oswago, Mr Duncan Mwanyumba, Ms Jane Nyaboke Njagi and Mr Wainaina Kagwe.

Others are former Kenya National Commission on Human Rights Chairman Maina Kiai, former House Speaker Francis ole Kaparo, Ms Koki Muli, Ms Alice Yano, Mr Wachira Maina and Mr Abdi Mohammed. More details and analysis shortly.

|   |    |   Add Comment |    Comments (0)

Today’s magazine

Drugs ain’t cool

A popular Kenyan hip-hop artiste is currently admitted at mental institution in Nairobi after he attempted suicide following bouts of drug abuse. The musician has in the past been in and out of rehab even while still a member of a popular music group. The talented artiste with a few hits under his belt, has also worked as a presenter with a leading station.